The Jefferson County Board of Supervisors still have a Mandatory Mask and Social Gathering Proclamation in Place! - read more

Countywide Curfew Effective Immediately - read more

Veteran luncheon - read more

County vehicle auction - read more

Jefferson County is located in the southwest portion of Mississippi and is one of the two oldest counties in the state. It was one of the first two divisions of the Mississippi Territory, established by proclamation on April 2, 1799, under the name of Pickering by Winthrop Sargent, the first territorial governor of the State of Mississippi. The county's name was changed to Jefferson in 1802, in honor of President Thomas Jefferson.